The One Chirp Song

Screen Shot 2015-10-12 at 7.50.30 AM

Morning song calls me
to rise before I fall.
Every day he greets me,
the one-chirp-at-a-time bird.
He’s faithful to his duties,
with “chirp” his one song word.

Even in my slumber
I listen for his call,
the one chirp songstress
who calls me to rise before I fall.

Today I thought to ignore him
with sadness growing long,
then he took it up a notch
by calling in his friends.
Soon ‘one chirp’ became a chorus
of one-chirp-at-a-time birds
calling me to rise in joy
with their one chirp song.

Personal Note
At times I struggle with depression. I used to treat it like a friend, say “Hello, come in for some coffee and stay awhile”. I’ve learned a better way for me, any way. Now, I feel the weightiness of depression and the emotions driving it, experience whatever caused it to come visit, and then reach outside of myself for joy which I can pull back in to remember my joyful self. God and nature are my go-to sources. This poem comes from that space. A bit silly, yet the fullness of joy I received from One Chirp’s morning song lifted my lips in a smile and my heart to remember joy.

If you struggle with intermittent depression, I invite you to discover a strategy that helps you feel what drives the depression so that you may release it before it takes up too much of life’s precious space. I invite you to discover a strategy that helps you reach out to draw joy in.

Leave a Reply

